Castlemaine State Festival presents

Omega Ensemble: Brahms and Bruch

When Johannes Brahms completed his famous Clarinet Sonatas, he published the scores simultaneously with an alternative part for viola. Sydney based Omega Ensemble return to Castlemaine performing thrilling chamber music by two giants of German Romanticism, Johannes Brahms and Max Bruch, this performance features Omega Ensemble’s principal musicians David Rowden (clarinet and Artistic Director), Neil Thompson, (viola) and Clemens Leske (piano).


Johannes Brahms: Sonata for Clarinet and Piano in E-flat, Op.120, No.2 – 25 min
Johannes Brahms: Sonata for Viola and Piano in F minor, Op.120 No.1 – 25 min
Max Bruch: Concerto for Clarinet & Viola Op.88 (arr. by the composer for clarinet, viola and piano) – 20 min


Clemens Leske – Piano
David Rowden- Clarinet / Artistic Director
Neil Thompson – Viola

One of Australia’s most forward-thinking Ensembles… – Limelight Magazine

Presented with special support from the Strings Collective